Particle offers functionality to help you manage levels of access for your product team members. This is helpful when overseeing a team of people who should have varying permissions with respect to Particle devices in your fleets.
Team Access Controls is an Enterprise only feature and is currently in a private alpha. If interested in this feature, please consult our team of IoT experts.
Roles represent a set of permissions that can be applied to a member of your product team.
You can view and set team-member-specific roles for each product on the Team page for the product in the Console:
A team member's role can also be set when inviting the user to your team.
The set of roles available to you are:
- Read-only: View only permissions within the product.
- Member: Full read and write permissions within the product.
- Owner: Full read and write permissions + billing administration privileges for the product.
Read-only is the most strict of the three product team member roles. It is designed specifically for people on your team that you'd only like to view information about your product. Team members given the Read-only role will not be able to take any action within the product.
Someone with the Read-only role can:
- List and inspect information about devices in the product
- Observe a stream of events from devices in the product
- View product configuration and settings
For team members who receive the Read-only role, the actions they are not allowed to take will be disabled in the Console interface:
Member is a role that provides a team member with full access to the product, its devices, and its configuration. The Member role is ideal for folks on your team that you trust and will be working regularly with your Particle deployment.
Someone with the Member role can:
- Do everything a Read-only teammate can do +
- Take action on one or more devices in the product fleet
- Add/remove devices and SIM cards to and from the product
- Upload and release product firmware to the fleet
- Manage the product team and teammates' roles
- Change product configuration and settings
The Owner of the product represents the highest level of access. There is one single owner for each product. The Owner role is automatically given to the creator of the product.
Someone with the Owner role can:
- Do everything a Member teammate can do +
- View and manage billing information related to the product
The Owner's role cannot be changed. The Owner also cannot be removed from the product team.